2019-08-14 Annual General Business Meeting Minutes

Minutes of the Annual General Business Meeting

International Association of Milk Control Agencies

Wednesday, August 14, 2019

Golden, Colorado


The Association President, Peter Hunkar, called the meeting to order at 1:45 pm.

Dan McCarthy, Association Secretary / Treasurer reviewed the minutes of the 2018 Annual General Business Meeting. A motion was made to approve the minutes, was seconded, and the motion was passed.

Dan McCarthy, as New York delegate, proposed and presented five amendments to the IAMCA Constitution. They included redefining Full and Associate Memberships, clarifying the eligibility for voting of Full Members, permitting proxy voting, permitting the position of Counsel from any country that has a full member, rather than limited to US and Canadian counsel, amending the membership fees (Full Membership to $250 per year and Associate Membership to $100 per year) and how fees are to be amended in the future.

After discussion, and incorporating offered amendments to the proposals, written ballots were provided for Full Member organizations eligible for voting. The Constitution requires a two-thirds vote of approval. Upon tally of the votes, all proposals passed with a unanimous vote.

Dan McCarthy provided a treasurer’s report for the fiscal year to date August 5, 2019.

Brent Achtemichuk offered, on behalf of the Nomination Committee, the following slate of officers.


Doug Thompson, Prince Edward Island – President

Dan McCarthy, New York – 1st Vice-President

Mike Southwood, Alberta – 2nd Vice-President

Dan McCarthy, New York – Secretary/Treasurer

Rob Delage – British Columbia – Assistant Secretary/Treasurer


Additionally, the Position of Canadian and US Counsels are:

France Dionne, Quebec – Canadian Counsel

Mike Wiers, Maine – US Counsel


The following persons were designated by their member-agency or nominated by the Executive Committee to serve on the Executive Committee:


Jerri Kahana – Hawaii                         Mike Southwood – Alberta

Crafton Wilkes – Virginia                   Rob Delage – British Columbia

Tim Drake – Maine                              Dan Draper – New Brunswick

Tim Moyer – Pennsylvania                  Brent Achtemichuk – Manitoba

Chad Lee – Montana                            John Moores – Newfoundland / Labrador

Michelle Ribera, Louisiana                  Liz Crouse – Nova Scotia

Peter Hunkar – Colorado                     TBD – – Ontario

Dan McCarthy – New York                 Doug Thompson – Prince Edward Island

France Dionne – Quebec

Doug Miller – Saskatchewan

Chantal Paul, Canadian Dairy Commission


A motion to accept this slate of members to the Executive Committee was approved by acclamation.

There were no legal reports.

Peter Hunkar spoke about the recent efforts to offer improved membership benefits and Peter and Dan McCarthy commented on continuing efforts to add new Full and Associate members.

Dan McCarthy reported that the retail price survey continues and will be provided quarterly. If anyone needs it more frequently, they can contact Dan. We are continuing to seek more organizations to provide data to make this publication more robust.


New Business:

No new business was offered.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:45 PM.


Submitted by,

Dan McCarthy, Secretary-Treasurer